Experimenting with Tuniac: WIP Subsonic support

The Tuniac forum.
Harteex

Experimenting with Tuniac: WIP Subsonic support

Post by Harteex »

I recently installed an Airsonic (open source Subsonic) server, and thought it would be nice to be able to use Tuniac with it.
So I hacked in very basic support.

As said, it's all just hacked in. But so far it connects to my server, parses some songs (too lazy to loop albums so I just get a list of 10 random songs atm), and plays them :)
For some reason it refuses to switch to the next song, but that's something for later.

Now I need to figure out how I would do this properly. I guess the best thing would be to make this some kind of plugin.
I've mostly been coding games, low level C stuff, mobile apps and various .NET programs before, so I have no experience with Win32, sockets etc. So this might take a while before I get anywhere with it :P
Brett
Site Admin

Re: Experimenting with Tuniac: WIP Subsonic support

Post by Brett »

Oh wow! New code to Tuniac!

In my mind all streaming services etc would be a new playlist type. Look at how the cdda stuff is handled by Tuniac with its own purpose built playlist window and playlist management code.

I would have a search box at the top right to look normal and display results as a playlist. Then allow adding the found results into other normal Tuniac playlists.

If the songs are just standard http to MP3/FLAC etc, they should just play fine (although Tuniac streaming support is super clunky).
If the server needs something nonstandard to get to the audio data you would write a plugin. The url field could be something like "funkyservice: uniqueCodeToFindSongAgain" so your new plugin can know it needs to play the track.
Harteex

Post by Harteex »

Brett wrote: Wed Jun 20, 2018 12:53 pm In my mind all streaming services etc would be a new playlist type. Look at how the cdda stuff is handled by Tuniac with its own purpose built playlist window and playlist management code.